Car Seat Safety Program

Car Seat Safety Program Services

The Care Seat Safety Program provides the following services:

  • Free car seats for low-income families who live in Orange County.  (i.e. participation in WIC, Medi-Cal, AFDC, CalFresh, Free and Reduced Priced School Lunch Program)
  • Help installing your car seat by a certified car seat technician
  • Educational classes for parents/caregivers and service providers.
  • Court referred car seat class (i.e. For parent/caregiver issued a car seat violation ticket)

For additional referrals to free car seats, classes, and inspections view the Orange County Child Passenger Safety Resource Guide.

For more information about the Car Seat Safety Program, contact Ana Bills at ABills@ochca.com or (714) 834-5889.


ad-car_seats1

ad-car_seats4California Child Passenger Safety Law

Children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds OR is 40 or more inches tall. The child shall be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the car seat.

Current California Law:

  • Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
  • Children who are 8 years of age OR have reached 4’9” in height must be secured by a safety belt.
  • Children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds, OR is 40 or more inches tall. The child shall be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the car seat.
  • Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California's Mandatory Seat Belt law.

Dangers In and Around Cars and Kaitlyn's Law
It is against California Law to leave a child who is 6 years of age or younger along in the car without the supervision of a person at least 12 years old if: 

  1. The keys are in the ignition or the car is running, or;
  2. There is a significant risk to the child.

Children are most at risk of being injured when vehicles are moving forward or backing out of a driveway.  Know the blind zones of your vehicle. 

Look before you lock to be sure you have not left a child in the back seat.  Heatstroke as a result of a child being left in a vehicle is a terrible tragedy.

ad-buoc_button1ad-buoc_button2
Page Last Updated: September 1, 2021