Select a language:

Office of Vital Records

The Orange County Health Care Agency, Office of Vital Records is responsible for registering all births and deaths that occur in Orange County including Out of Hospital births for babies that were born outside of a hospital setting.  Certified copies of Orange County birth and death certificates can be purchased at this office.

Burial permits can also be applied for by the next of kin and purchased at this office where the death occurred in Orange County, or where the final resting place will be in Orange County.  Please visit the Burial Permits for the General Public webpage for more information.

 

ATTENTION

  • Allow 10 business days after the birth or death event for record registration and availability for purchase.  If no record is found, Health and Safety Code 103650 requires our office to retain the fee and issue a Certificate of No Public Record.
  • This office has Orange County birth and death records that occurred in the last 2 years (24 months).
  • If the birth or death occurred more than 2 years ago (more than 24 months ago), contact the Orange County Clerk-Recorder at (714) 834-2500 or visit www.ocrecorder.com .

 

Services by Appointment Only

Authorized Certified Copy

California Health and Safety Code 103526 defines individuals who can obtain an authorized birth or death certificate as:

  • The registrant or a parent, legal guardian (legal guardian must provide documentation), child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner of the registrant.
  • A party entitled to receive the record as a result of court order (include copy of court order) or an attorney or licensed adoption agency seeking the birth record in order to comply with the requirements of Section 3140 or 7603 of the Family Code.
  • A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business.
  • Any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant's estate (Include a copy of the power of attorney or documentation identifying you as executor.)
  • An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant's estate.
  • Any agent or employee of a funeral establishment who acts within the course and scope of employment and on behalf of persons specified in HSC 7100 (a) (1)-(8).
  • Surviving next of kin as specified in HSC 7100 (For Death Certificates only)

 

Informational Certified Copy

If you cannot obtain an authorized copy under California law, you can obtain an informational copy.  An informational copy contains the same information as an authorized copy but will have a legend across the certificate with the statement "Informational, Not a Valid Document to Establish Identity."  Certain items will be redacted, and an informational copy cannot be used to obtain identification.

In-person Ordering

To purchase an Orange County birth or death certificate in person, you will need the following:

  1. Application for Vital Record English or Spanish
    1. If purchasing a certificate in person, do not complete or notarize the second page of application.
  2. A valid government-issued photo identification
    1. I.D. must be for the individual purchasing the record.
    2. We do not accept expired identification.
  3. Pay fee ($32 each for birth certificates or $24 each for death certificates)
    1. Method of payment accepted for in-person customers:  cash, check, cashier’s check, money order and credit/debit card

Mail-in Ordering

To purchase an Orange County birth or death certificate through the mail, you will need the following:

  1. Application for Vital Record English or Spanish
  2. Notarized Sworn Statement (page 2 of application) – if applying for an Authorized Certified Copy (see above)
  3. Pay fee ($32 each for birth certificates or $24 each for death certificates)
    1. For mail-in orders we accept check, cashier’s check, or money order
    2. Do not send cash
    3. Make checks payable to:  Orange County Health Care Agency or OCHCA.
  4. Stamped, self-addressed envelope (business size or manila envelope)
  5. Mail all items to:

         County of Orange Health Care Agency
         Office of Vital Records
         200 W. Santa Ana Blvd., Suite 100-B
         Santa Ana, CA 92701


Online Ordering

To purchase an Orange County birth or death certificate online please visit VitalChek, a third-party website, at https://www.vitalchek.com/vital-records .

  1. Select Birth or Death Certificate
  2. Complete the online application
  3. Pass electronic identity proofing – if applying for an Authorized Certified Copy (see above)
    1. If identity cannot be electronically verified, a Notarized Sworn Statement will be required
  4. Pay fees by credit/debit card or electronic check
  5. Certificate fee ($32 each for birth certificates or $24 each for death certificates)
    1. VitalChek online processing fee $12.95
    2. Shipping fee ($1 for regular mail or $19 for UPS priority shipping)

Birth Certificate:

$32.00

Death Certificate:

$24.00

Fetal Death Certificate:

$21.00

Burial Permit:

$12.00

Affidavit of Homeless Status for a Fee Exempt Birth Certificate

Pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 103577, each local registrar or county recorder shall, without a fee, issue one (1) certified record of live birth to any person who can verify his or her status as a homeless person.  This affidavit must be used for the purpose of requesting a fee exempt certified copy of a Certificate of Live Birth only. The Affidavit of Homeless Status for a Fee Exempt Birth Certificate is to be completed by a “homeless services provider.”

 

Affidavit of Youth in Foster Care for a Fee Exempt Birth Certificate

Pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 103578, each local registrar or county recorder shall, without a fee, issue one (1) certified record of live birth to any person who can verify his or her status as a youth in foster care.  This affidavit must be used for the purpose of requesting a fee exempt certified copy of a Certificate of Live Birth only.  The Affidavit of Youth in Foster Care Status for a Fee Exempt Birth Certificate is to be completed by a “county welfare agency”.

Park Tower Building
200 W. Santa Ana Blvd., Suite 100-B     
Santa Ana, CA 92701
Click for online map

Business Hours:  8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Monday – Friday, except holidays

 

Park Tower Building

Public Garage Parking:

The Park Tower parking garage is located off Sycamore St. ($1.00 per 15 minutes or $4.00 per hour).

 

Metered Parking:

There is metered parking located behind the Old Orange Courthouse and along Sycamore St. ($0.25 per 10 mins or $1.50 per hour).

 

NOTE:  We do not validate parking.

We are closed on the following legal holidays:

  • New Year’s Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Lincoln’s Birthday
  • Presidents Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day
  • Veteran’s Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Friday after Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Day

Phone: (714) 480-6700
Email:  vitalrecords@ochca.com
 

NOTE: We do not verify whether records are registered or ready for purchase over the telephone or by email.  Allow 10 business days after the birth or death event for record registration and submit your application with required fee.